My Thoughts on New Years

Blame it on my zodiac sign (which is Taurus) but I’ve never been happy about changes. To me they always had a more bitter than sweet taste and I used to avoid changes. especially the new yer used to make me feel uncomfortable because I thought everything would be different next year and it was always because it was a new year. Things changed when I grew older and during the past few years I did not even celebrate the New Year. One year I when I was about 14 I stayed at home, watching Lord Of The Rings and ate pudding all by myself. Then there were those times where my friends stayed over but we didn’t celebrate either. NYE seemed to be so much stress, unfulfilled expectations and disappointments that I came to the conclusion that the New Year is just a new day. I’ve never made any New Years Resolutions or anything similar because I’ve never seen anybody doing what they promised themselves to do. So why set goals that I am not even going to accomplish?

Well, this year is going to be different.

This year was full of good and bad moments. I finished school, I went to more concerts than I expected, I had great moments with friends and my boyfriend, I was able to travel and see beautiful party of the world, I had time to figure out where I want to go and I am thankful for that. But all those things did not happen because it was 2016. A number does not limit the things that happen to me. All those memories I gained this year will not be lost in 2016, they will stay with me forever.

So I am ready for 2017. It will be the year I will start University, I will travel and I will go to concerts and maybe even a festival but most importantly I will grow and so will everybody else. And this is something we can all look forward to.

I am trying to embrace 2017 and try not to be afraid of changes. So for a change, here are my New Years Resolutions:

  1. Be more independent. Don’t search your happiness and strength in someone else, find it in yourself.
  2. Gain self-confidence
  3. Don’t be too afraid of growing
  4. Travel by Airplane
  5. Read more books

What is your opinion on New Years Eve – more bitter nostalgia or sweet changes? Do you have New Year’s Resolutions?
Let me know in the comments.
xx

 

Photo: Pixabay

Leave a Reply

