Books I read in January

The first month of the new year is already over and my new reading challenge has started. Last year I read about 28 books (the goal was 25). This year I want to read 35, even though 50 books in one year is my ultimate goal. In January I already ticked 4 books off my list.

No. 1 Confess by Colleen Hoover

I’ve been a CoHo Fan for about 2 or 3 years and already read at least 11 books by her. They are sweet, heartbreaking and fast to read and so is Confess. Colleen Hoover is great at connecting her stories with art. In this book the pieces of art are built aroud confessions and I truly love this idea!
I would recommend everyone to pick up a CoHo book!

No.2 Chasing Polaris by Autumn Doughton and Erica Cope

Books by Autumn Doughton are hard to put down and I’ve been looking forward to read another book by her for months. With Steering the Stars and The Bright Effect (my heart aches every time I think about this book, which is almost every day since I read it a year ago) these two women already proved that their colaboration is one of the best things that can happen to us. They always succeed in writing great stories with amazingly strong female characters and their love of my favourite show Gilmore Girls brings me a lot of joy. Additionally, Autumn made a playlist on Spotify for every book she wrote (how amazing is that?!), so give it a quick listen while you’re reading one of her books.

No. 3 Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I’ve had a hard time with this book to be honest. One of my worst habits is reading the end when I’m only a hundred pages in. I know this sucks but I just need to know that everything will be fine. I read the end when I was almost finished and only had 70 pages left because I’ve seen some spoilers on the internet and had to be sure about what’s going to happen. Afterwards I put the book away for a very long time and just recently picked it up again to finish it and it was great. The whole Divergent Universe was amazing but I’ve been annoyed with Tris more than once. But all in all it was a great read.

No. 4 Too Late by Colleen Hoover

One CoHo book in one month surely isn’t enough. I really enjoyed this book but it is pretty heavy. The trigger warning in the beginning should not be ignored because rape, abuse, drugs etc. are the main topics. Still, it is a very important read to spread awearness of these topics. Also, her style of writing is absolutely amazing.

So bookwise it was a good month for me. I normally don’t get to read that much even if I want to but I hope that’s going to change this year.

Do you have any reading challenges? Do you like to read? Which books do you recommend?

 

Leave a Reply

